Well my title turned from a crappy joke to an even crappier joke.
But Im keeping it.

SO UH I DUNNO IF IT WAS OBVIOUS, BUT IT’S TIME FOR A REVIEW. AREN’T YOU EXCITED?

I sure as hell am.

 

COVER YOU – MORNING MUSUME

ea9c17cbvx2

(Let me just start off by saying that I like that they stayed close to the original version.)

1. Nagisa no Sinbad (Pink Lady)

Original:

The melody is catchy and it’s hard not to tap your foot/hum along/whatever you prefer to do. I think the vocals in this song were impressive and uh HARMONIES.

Pink Lady songs are epic, so this is kind of a given. Except, Im not tooooo fond of original arrangements and I don’t like their voices much. But the songs themselves… They’re great. ❤ SEKUSHIIII~ ANATA GA SEKUSHI~

I’ve never heard the actual W version. I’ve only heard the live performance from WH winter 2006. And Tsuji’s voice made me angry. So I prefer this.

I can’t find a flaw with this song, but it’s not the best on the album… so…

Morning Musume: 9/10
Pink Lady: 7/10

2. Dou ni mo Tomaranai (Linda Yamamoto)

Original:

I get scared everytime this song starts, forgetting how fierce everybody sounds and how good of a song it is. It’s a really good song, but then again, the whole CD is. I really like Ai and Risa in this.

The original terrifies me.

Morning Musume: 8/10
Linda Yamamoto: 4/10

3. Izakaya (Hiroshi Itsuki + Nana Kinomi?)

Original:

AI’S VOICE OMG.

Smooooooooooooooooooooth. I practically swoon from her singing in this song. She’s amazing. But the creepy old man kinda wrecked my opinion. It would’ve been like my favourite song if it was a solo Ai song.

Once again, the original is scary. Like, there’s the creepy old man [who is not so old there] and a creepy old woman. Her voice scares me.

Morning Musume: 7/10 (Ai: 10/10)
Original: 3/10

4. Pepper Keibu (ALBUM Ver.) (Pink Lady)

Original:

This is probably one of my favourite Momusu singles. It’s amazing. I love the arrangement; it’s still retro but also really updated. ❤

And the original is great too.

Only complaint: UH, JEEZ PINK LADY. DO YOU KNOW WHAT /FOOD/ IS? EAT IT. GAIN WEIGHT. PLEASE, FOR ALL OF US.

Morning Musume: 10/10
Pink Lady: 8/10

5. Shiroi Chou no Samba (Kayoko Moriyama)

Original:

I think this song has one of the best arrangements on the CD, and is one of my favourites. It didn’t really keep the original arrangement, and this time, I’m glad. I like it better like this. And it’s very catchy, isn’t it? Shiroi might end up as one of my favourite album songs ever.

OH PANDAS~ YOU’RE BOTH SO AMAZING~
Junjun’s improved a lot. I thought she was Gaki or Ai for a moment…
Linlin is really ❤

As Max pointed out, Junjun sings some things in a really Chinese way. I like it. It’s endearing. [I have to stop saying that.]

The original singer’s face scares me. :/ WELL, WHAT? AFTER BEING AN IDOL FAN FOR 2 YEARS, YOU START GETTING A TAD SHALLOW… >_<;;

Morning Musume: 10/10
Kayoko Moriyama: 5/10

6. Seishun Jidai (Kouichi Morita)

Original:

THIS SONG IS FIERCE

LIKE REALLY, ERI. OMG. ERI.

WOW WHEN DID YOU GET THERE.

YOU WERE ALL LIKE

“HI IM ERI AND IM NOT NOTICABLE”

AND THEN BAM.

ERI.

I LOVE YOU.

Original guy looks shifty. (Almost said shitty lolololol)

Morning Musume: 10/10
Kouichi Morita: 6/10

7. Ringo Satsujin Jiken (Gou Hiromi&Kiki Kirin) <- direct copypaste from H!O. Lollll.

Original:

I keep forgetting about this song.

I like the Momusu version.

The original scared me. And I’m not scared easily.

Morning Musume: 7/10
Original by whoever the fuck: 2/10 gtfo

8. ROMANCE (ALBUM Ver.) (Hiromi Iwasaki)

Original:

I love this song.

And I love the original. [WUT SERIOUSLY?!]

Enough said.

Morning Musume: 10/10
Hiromi Iwasaki: 10/10

9. Machi no Hikari (Masaaki Sakai)

Original:

Kind of a boring song.

But it’s like, the mother of all sleepy songs. AND Takagaki, the duo I was waiting for while this album was unreleased. And they really sound great.

The original is okay. But it’s not Takagaki.

Morning Musume: 8/10
Original: 6/10

10. Koi no Dial 6700 (Finger 5)

Original:

Best song on the album.

It’s amazing.

LINLIN’S SOLO ❤

Also Kame’s chorus solo. God, that girl seriously stepped up for this album.

The original is insanely annoying.
I don’t care if you think those kids are cute.
I want to kick them off the stage and hope the injuries keep them from singing again. Or something.

Morning Musume: 11/10
Finger 5: 1/10

11. Pinpanpon Taisou (?)

Er… something close to the original:

It’s cute. I hope Koha covers this on a Kirarin album or something. It suits her.

I like the video I chose. It’s adorable ❤

Morning Musume: 8/10
That video: 9/10 IT’S SO CUTE

 

12. Watashi no Aoi Tori (Junko Sakurada)

Original:

Very pleasant. It’s very flowy and I really like it. <333

The original is kinda ehhhh but that’s okay.

Kukku kukku kukku kukku~

Morning Musume: 10/10
Junko Sakurada: 7/10

13. Johnny e no Dengen (Pedro&Capricious)

Original:

GAKI GAKI GAKI GAKI GAKI.

THAT IS ALL.

Morning Musume: 10/10
Pedro&Capricious?: 6/10

14. UFO (Pink Lady)

Original:

Epic.

That’s all I can say.

Morning Musume: 10/10
Pink Lady: 8/10

So yeah.

Overall I give this album a 9.5/10 because not everything was 10/10.

But hey, this is the best Morning Musume album [excluding best-ofs] in my opinion. The arrangements and vocals were great in every song. There wasn’t 1 bad track. 

